David Behrman

David Behrman, electronics; Takehisa Kosugi, violin; Ben Neill and Rhys Chatham, trumpets

A series of three pieces/suites; 'Leapday Night', 'A Traveler's Dream Journal', and 'Interspecies Smalltalk' involving Rhys Chatham/Ben Neill (on trumpet/mutantrumpet), Fluxus mainstay Takehisa Kosugi (violin), and Behrman himself on electronics. Behrman creates thickly layered liquid sounds utilizing this complex computer music system which absorbs, actually hears, the sounds of instrumentalists, then plays off their improvisations with its own synthesized reactions. The system consists of pitch sensors ("ears" with which it listens to the performing musicians), various music synthesizers (some homemade), a computer graphics color video display and a personal computer. "Heavy period-synth float with bare accompaniment, thankfully just-pre DX-7."

Album Notes

Track Listing:

1. Leapday Night, Scene 1 (6:30)
2. Leapday Night, Scene 2 (6:36)
3. Leapday Night, Scene 3 (8:38)
4. A Traveller's Dream Journal, Setting A (9:22)
5. A Traveller's Dream Journal, Setting B (9:20)
6. Interspecies Smalltalk, Part 1 (9:38)
7. Interspecies Smalltalk, Part 2 (11:54)

CD 1042
List Price: $16.99
Lovely Price: $15.00